Town Board

Contact: Denise Hood, Hopewell Town Clerk

2716 County Road #47
Canandaigua, NY 14424

Phone: (585) 394-0036, ext. 1

Fax: (585) 394-8714

Email: [email protected]


The Town of Hopewell is governed by the Town Board, which consists of four Council Members and the Town Supervisor.  The four members of the Town Board are elected to four-year terms, while the Supervisor serves a two-year term.  Although these positions are part-time, the responsibilities of the Town Board are significant.

Town Board Meetings are scheduled for the first and third Wednesday of each month beginning at 7:00 PM. Please contact Town Clerk Denise Hood at 585-394-0036 ext. 1 if you have any questions. 



Ted Bateman - Supervisor - Term Expiration 12/31/2021

([email protected] ) Phone: (585) 394-0036, ext. 3

Four Year Terms:

  • Erin Everson - Town Council Member - Term Expiration 12/31/2023
  • Matt Goodman - Town Council Member - Term Expiration 12/31/2021
  • Adam Sanford - Town Council Member - Term Expiration 12/31/2023
  • Jeffrey Trickey - Town Council Member - Term Expiration 12/31/2021

  • Public Hearing Notices - Water Districts Extension No.'s 4 and 6 - February 19, 2020

Organizational Meeting - 1/8/2020

Town Board Minutes - 1/15/2020

Town Board Minutes - 2/5/2020

Public Hearing / Town Board Minutes - February 19, 2020

Town Board Agenda - March 4, 2020

March 4, 2020 Town Board Minutes

Town Board Meeting Agenda-March 18,2020

Public Hearing/Town Board Meeting February 19, 2020 (Revised)

Town Board Meeting-March 18,2020
Exhibit A-Budget Modifications from 2019 Year End Closing


The Town Board manages the day-to-day operations of the Town Government and is accountable for the health, safety and welfare of all citizens.

The Town Supervisor, Ted Bateman, also serves as the Budget Officer for the Town, and shares financial oversight responsibilities with the Town Board.   The Town Board adopts a budget every year, which includes funding for a vast array of Town services.

Like the federal and state governments, town government has three branches, the executive, legislative, and judicial.  The Supervisor is the Chief Executive Officer while the Town Board is the legislative body.   There are also two independently elected Town Justices.  The Town Government also performs important administrative functions, and the Town has independently elected positions, including the Town Clerk/Tax Collector and the Highway Superintendent.

The Zoning Board of Appeals has responsibility for interpreting zoning laws and and considering variance requests. The Planning Board considers site plans, subdivision proposals, and special use permits, to name a few.